Business building · Do this yourself

Track cost and ROI per AI agent for companies.

How it makes money: Charge teams $49/mo per workspace to track the cost and ROI of each AI agent.

Agent setup: Intermediate · Connects several tools (Vercel, Supabase) with payments and simple data. How we rate this

Found on Reddit in r/AI_Agents (1 thread).

🔥 1k posts this week · 4 likes

Where this came from (Reddit)

Companies running AI agents can’t say what each one costs or earns.

The threads (in our words)

Reddit blocks automated reads, so we couldn’t record upvote or comment counts. The business below is our own design inspired by these threads.

Who it’s for

Teams running AI agents, and the managers paying for them.

Adapt it to your industry

  • Start with one niche or customer type, then expand.
  • Ask your first 10 customers what they would pay before you build more.
  • Keep a human check on anything sent in a customer’s name.

Step by step

  1. Connect read-only billing from LLM providers and tag usage by agent.
  2. Let teams define what success means per agent (tickets solved, leads booked).
  3. Report cost per agent and cost per result weekly.
  4. Charge per workspace by Stripe.
  5. Grow with content on agent costs and AI agent communities.
  6. Review the numbers with each new customer once.

Ready-to-copy prompt

Here is our LLM usage by API key and the work each agent did: [paste]. Calculate cost per agent and cost per completed task, and suggest where to cut.

Start with AI

Opens the AI with this guide and the prompt filled in.

Time
1–3 hoursOur estimate

Your autonomous stack

Autonomy: The app, onboarding, billing and support run without you. Your part: Weekly: read metrics and support escalations, approve changes (about 1 hour).

Every layer an agent-run business needs, in order. Prices are public list prices, checked Oct 16, 2026.

  1. Agent (the brain): Grok Bot (agent + scheduled routines) (opens in new tab) (Included with The X Subscription Premium $30/mo (Super $100/mo for more usage; Plus $8 does not include Grok Bot)). Grok Bot runs the business day to day: writes, answers, decides small things and reports to you. Claude Code or Codex are alternatives.
  2. Build and hosting: Vercel hosting (opens in new tab) (Hobby free · Pro $20/mo), Supabase database (opens in new tab) (Free tier · Pro from $25/mo). The product or service your customers use.
  3. Payments: Stripe payments (opens in new tab) (No monthly fee · 2.9% + 30¢ per card payment). Automatic checkout and receipts. Other options: PayPal Checkout (3.49% + 49¢) or Lemon Squeezy (5% + 50¢, handles sales tax).
  4. Customer acquisition: Buffer (scheduled X posts) (opens in new tab) (Free plan (3 channels, 10 queued posts each) · Essentials $5/mo per channel, billed yearly), beehiiv newsletter (opens in new tab) (Free up to 2,500 subscribers), Apollo (find business emails) (opens in new tab) (Free tier · Basic $65/mo). Agent-written SEO pages, scheduled X posts and a weekly newsletter, plus cold email to businesses that follow CAN-SPAM/GDPR (real sender, opt-out link, no bought consumer lists).
  5. Delivery: Grok Bot (agent + scheduled routines) (opens in new tab) (Included with The X Subscription Premium $30/mo (Super $100/mo for more usage; Plus $8 does not include Grok Bot)). A Grok Bot routine delivers the product or result as soon as someone pays.
  6. Support: Grok Bot (agent + scheduled routines) (opens in new tab) (Included with The X Subscription Premium $30/mo (Super $100/mo for more usage; Plus $8 does not include Grok Bot)). Grok Bot answers the support inbox; anything unclear is flagged for you.
  7. Monitoring and schedule: Grok Bot (agent + scheduled routines) (opens in new tab) (Included with The X Subscription Premium $30/mo (Super $100/mo for more usage; Plus $8 does not include Grok Bot)). Grok Bot scheduled routines run each day: send, check for failures, alert you if something breaks.
  8. Analytics: Google Analytics (opens in new tab) (Free). Tracks visits, signups and sales so the agent can report what works.
  9. Human checkpoint: Weekly: read metrics and support escalations, approve changes (about 1 hour).
  10. Price: charge $49 per workspace (monthly per workspace). Offer the first 3 customers a founding price for honest feedback.
Monthly cost$30–$145/monthFree tiers → paid plans of the tools above. Card fees come out of each sale.
What you could earn · EstimateEstimate: 30 workspaces × $49 = $1,470/moOur estimate, not a fact or a promise. It’s simple math if you land these customers at this price.
Details: source, numbers and tags

What they did

Plug in LLM and tool bills; get each agent’s cost, usage and value in one report. We designed this business from real Reddit threads; it is an idea for you to build, not a description of the posters’ businesses.

How it went

Found on Reddit in r/AI_Agents (1 thread). Upvote and comment counts weren’t retrievable, so none are shown. On X, 1,039 posts matched our search for this idea in the 7 days to 2026-10-16.

Worth knowing

Read-only access; don’t store prompts unless the customer opts in.

Difficulty
BeginnerOur rating
Time to build
Not reportedOur estimate
Monthly cost
Not reported
Revenue
Not reportedWe only show revenue the source states
Engagement
No public countThe source shows no number
X buzz
27.4 · 1,039 posts in 7 days4 likes, 0 reposts, 3 replies, 0 quotes on 4 top posts · fetched Oct 16, 2026 · query: ("ai agents" OR "ai agent") (cost OR costs OR roi) (tracking OR track OR per) -is:retweet lang:en

Original builder recipe

  • ChatGPT
  • Claude
  1. Connect read-only billing from LLM providers and tag usage by agent.
  2. Let teams define what success means per agent (tickets solved, leads booked).
  3. Report cost per agent and cost per result weekly.
  4. Charge per workspace by Stripe.
  5. Grow with content on agent costs and AI agent communities.
  6. Review the numbers with each new customer once.

Tags

Read the original

More ideas like this

The weekly top 5.

The five hottest AI business ideas on X each week, with the steps and costs. Free.